Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I was a cabinet installer and not a professional painter. I have lots of experience painting with brushes\rollers and previously sprayed using my own Wagner Procoat sprayer to paint 10,000 sqft of trussed steel ceilings and used it on a few fences.

Current job that needs painting
16 x 12 coffered ceiling with mixed raw and pre primed MDF wood trim
8 x 8x8" fluted raw MDF pillars on columns
40ft of 3ft high wainscoting + baseboard made up of raw MDF and poplar trim
Bay window seat and columns

Building Plant Wood Cabinetry Architecture

Materials
I purchased the paint months ago when it was great deal before determining the method of painting or spray tips I have
Primer - 3 gal - Zinsser Bulls Eye 123 primer - TDS states use 0.017” tip at 2000 – 2500 PSI. If thinning is required add no more than 5% clean water
Paint - 4 gal - Valspar Signature Interior Latex Satin Paint+Primer No. 773957 - Ultra White - Tinted white - TDS states use Tip: 0.017–0.021″ 2000psi. Do not thin

Equipment
Wagner Procoat airless sprayer max tip size 0.015 - It has the power to prime and push the paint through gun just not a pro machine
Gun is Titan GS0-8 \ Wagner Spraytech Gs-07
Tips I have Wagner\Titan 515(used ~20 gal through it) & 413(new)

Prep
All surfaces all filled, sanded, caulked,
Tape everything, seal room off
Blown off trim with compressor, vacuum, and "tack" cloth surfaces
Plan is to do ceiling first and work my way down

Questions
The paint manufacture TDS's suggest 0.017 tips but the machine cannot handle 0.017 tips. Do I spray everything with the 515 tip or do I even try the 413 tip? (risk of sheer or something else) The paint states "do not thin" does Floetrol count? I want a smooth finish and no sags the 515 might provide a bit too much over spray on the columns when I over lap 50%. A bit of wasted paint not an issue.