Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A builder bud texted me pics and asked if I could fix. Recently
track lighting was removed leaving the discoloration lines.
Info received:
White pine, installed 30 yrs ago, "some kind" of flat sealer

Would love to hear possible solutions.

Water Blue Fixture Shade Wood
Brown Building Fixture Rectangle Wood
Brown Beige Wood Flooring Floor
Brown Wood Flooring Floor Plank
My background is executing decorative paint finishes/ mixing a ton of colors/glazes by eye over the years. The max height is 16' and I know the farther from the eye, the more forgiving.
I haven't committed to trying other than this post. Thx Happy Sat

·
Premium Member
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If you can brighten the dark lines to match, as Northwest mentioned, you may be able to use/make a wiping varnish (and feather the edges out). If you can match the sheen, you shouldn't need to varnish the entire board length. even if you cant match the sheen perfectly, you can likely wet sand it to a close sheen with some high grit paper.

It is fortunate that the wood looks to be just a clear coat (no stain). That should simplify what you need to do.
Are you thinking the brightener should be applied "clean as possible"...just on discoloring yes? Or is that not a biggie?
This is where I lack experience.

The clear/sheen matching, not too worried about.

Also, is the BM brightener what you were thinking about when saying brightener? Another product?
Thx H

·
Premium Member
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Are you thinking the brightener should be applied "clean as possible"...just on discoloring yes? Or is that not a biggie?
This is where I lack experience.

The clear/sheen matching, not too worried about.

Also, is the BM brightener what you were thinking about when saying brightener? Another product?
Thx H
Or have two or three differing brighteners and just see which works best?