Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, first post here. So I'm in my second year of owning my small company after having been painting for about 5 years. My garage is quite modest and my ladders, tools, etc. etc. are quickly outstripping my space.

I'm starting to dream about renting out a shop and would love to have part of it as a spray booth. I'm open to getting my own or going in with another painter or two in doing so. But I have little clue as to how much this might cost, or how to find and/or create a shop with a spray booth.

What have you done, either when you were starting out, a bit further down the road and/or what solutions have you found? Is there a good and ideally affordable way to create a spray booth? To ventilate? I'm in Minnesota, so it gets really cold here in the winters too.

·
Registered
3,128 Posts
Do you get enough work to justify it, and do you think you can raise your prices to accomodate the cost without losing all your business? If your shop is $2000 a month, you need to do that that much work just to break even.... Let alone materials cost. You'll need to bump your prices WAY up. I suggest raising your prices first, then see if your work takes a hit.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, absolutely. And I actually plan on raising my prices. I'm fairly green, but learning/improving all the time and am ready to ramp things up. I've been getting jobs a very high percentage of the time, and calls keep coming in, which also tells me that I may not be charging enough. Granted, it is certainly busy season where I'm at I know.

I'm not in a rush to do this, but gathering information. And also, as I mentioned the possibility of sharing a shop would greatly reduce the price, though there are certainly may be drawbacks as well.

·
Super Moderator
Journeyman Painting Contractor
2,922 Posts