Most Painters, at one time or another, have attached a makeshift paint bucket around their waist and tried to paint with it.

Ed Arndt took that idea to the next level...

I sat down to a phone conversation with Edward Arndt, inventor of the “Swivel EZ - Paint Bucket Holster” for an informal interview. I let him know that I mentioned his name and his Bucket Holster in a recent PaintTalk post, and asked if I might do a brief write-up about him.

Wood Electric blue Strap Pet supply Hunting knife

My crew and I have been using the Paint Bucket Holster since 2005.

I asked Ed how he came up with the idea for the Paint Bucket Holster, how he came up with a working prototype, how he manufactured it, and if he was ever a painter (?)…

It turns out Ed was a Third Grade Teacher right out of college. When budgetary cut-backs were made, Ed did not have seniority, and he was laid off. He bounced around to a few jobs, working at them until he “became bored”. He started working tool and die in his Dad’s shop, and from there went onto retro-fitting doors and windows for a small company, he then painted houses for four or five years. Ed said he came up with the idea for the bucket holster in the early 90’s while painting on his own historic home. He was always painting it, because it was an old wooden home that shed paint. His house had hipped roofs with overhangs all around, and many difficult spots to paint while on a ladder… and thus the idea for the SwivelEZ was born.

There appears to have been a remarkable effort to bring the finished product to completion (pre-internet), from the initial concept to a completed mold, design/print/package, and final boxing, etc…