Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,839 Posts
I used Breakthrough! 250 for a few years for my custom cabinet business. The local PPG dealer could not survive the Covid 19 pandemic business loss and closed. So I switched to Benjamin Moore's Advance. It sprays out nice and I particularly like the satin finish. But it does not seem to cure as hard as the Breakthrough! Is it my imagination? Or should I drive the extra 30 miles to get the Breakthrough!?

I would note that the other dealer of Breakthrough! has a four gallon minimum and sometimes that is more than I want to buy. The PPG dealer will sell me exactly the amount I need. Also there is a 2 week wait to get Breakthough 250. Breakthrough 50 is available from stock, but is not recommended for cabinet work.
Have your BM dealer get you some corotech command

·
Registered
3,839 Posts
Will it level like the Advance? Is there any issue spraying with HVLP equipment? I am not a painter by trade. I am a custom cabinet maker who supplies painted cabinets to customers. (Though some will paint them on-site after installation).

For that reason I like to learn how to use one type of finish and stick with it. I only changed from Breakthrough! because the vendor went out of business. I like the appearance of Advance satin better than Breakthrough!, but it does seem softer than Breakthrough!.

I will check with my B-M dealer (which is a very large hardware store with several branches and not a paint-specific vendor) and see if they can get the Corotech Command. Some of the satellite stores are paint specific but still, not as knowledgeable as the PPG dealer used to be.

Thanks for the information.