Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a painter for 2 plus decades and was always told early on "you need to backroll ceilings if they're sprayed"

You don't. Plain and simple. I have been spraying ceilings in promar 400 flat for a decade without backrolling and after it completely dries (24 hours). It looks flawless.

Then comes the painters who will tell you "well how do you do touchups"? With a microfiber roller.

I think painters get worried because flat paint dries very inconsistently and doesn't dry like an eggshell so it doesn't look good right away. The next day it'll look better than any backrolled ceiling you've ever done.

· Registered
18 Posts
I've been a painter for 2 plus decades and was always told early on "you need to backroll ceilings if they're sprayed"

You don't. Plain and simple. I have been spraying ceilings in promar 400 flat for a decade without backrolling and after it completely dries (24 hours). It looks flawless.

Then comes the painters who will tell you "well how do you do touchups"? With a microfiber roller.

I think painters get worried because flat paint dries very inconsistently and doesn't dry like an eggshell so it doesn't look good right away. The next day it'll look better than any backrolled ceiling you've ever done.
This is so timely because I was actually wanted to do some digging on this as well.

I've been painting just as long and I've done both, spray and backroll ceilings. I have back rolled alot of ceilings to date because I just got tired going back in for touch up after electricians and other trades made a mess of the ceilings. On the other hand the reason why I'm on is I just finished spraying 6000sqft of ceilings on this job as the builder is maticuious and know I probably won't have touch ups. I will say though, not very happy with the way some rooms have dried.