Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
okay, so i recently reached out to a retail building company and they have been emailing me quite a few bid invitations for projects. from what i gather they are expecting the estimation on labour and materials to be based solely on the architectural drawing including in the emails.

im completely new to estimating this way; the other commercial contracting company that i get work from either has me do a site visit, then quote them labour/materials or they would just send me a estimate on the labour/materials themselves.

anyways guys, how exactly do i go about doing this?

any bit of help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,716 Posts
Yes it's all per plans and spec's on the plans. Sometimes on remodels you will do a walk through but on most ground up jobs there is not much for a finish trade to look at as they are generally for the g.c. Architects are famous for not including enough info on the plans and spec's so you have to ask questions through the g.c. which can take time so getting your final numbers together can be frustrating.Don't miss the addendum's and alternates. Architects have a well deserved low reputation. Plug away at it and it get's easier and faster.

·
Registered
3,235 Posts
Make you you pay attention to the scale of the drawing as this will be key in figuring lineal and square footage. For painting most of what you need to know, like specked materials, number of coats and method of application will be contained in the Finish schedule. Sometimes for doors and windows you may have to look at the door and window schedule to find out if they are painted, stained or prefinished. For heights of walls etc. get these off the elevation drawings. And finally make sure you are bidding off of the latest revised print!

·
Registered
1,113 Posts