Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I started wearing glasses and am having the worst time keeping them clean and also I am worried about scratches on lenses $150. (polycarbonate).
Just wondering if people who wear glasses and paint,prefer glasses or contact lenses? I have not tried CL yet. Also am wondering if I should maybe order real glass lenses.

·
Registered
417 Posts
ive been wearing contact lenses for a couple decades now and have no problems painting with them in. i would look into getting the disposable kind if you do a lot of spraying as i occasionally get a few spattered lenses and have to replace them.

all things considered, i might even count these as "safety contacts"! i had dropped a quart cup full of some acetone dye stain and it landed square in my eyeball. for a brief moment i thought "oh s&*t! im going to be blind!" but nope! flushed my eyes with water and popped out my contacts and was good as new :thumbsup:

·
PinheadsUnite
30,724 Posts
From what I understand, astigmatism is not as easily corrected with contacts as with glasses. That's my main vision problem.

I also need reading glasses to see my work. I have a pair of work glasses that are focused for 18 - 24 inches.

I hear that they are using a far vision contact in one eye and a reading magnification in the other eye as a "work around" for bifocals.

That would drive me crazy (OK, crazier)

glasses for me

·
Paint Store Owner
5,550 Posts
Been wearing contacts for years, no problems. Have a slight astigmatism and no problems at all. Definitely get the disposable ones, I think mine are 2 week disposables.

·
Registered
372 Posts
Had to stop wearing contact lenses...

I got a scratch on my eye and the contact lens can hold bacteria against wounds....so I ended up with an ulcer on it. Nasty painful...every time I looked towards light it was like someone was jamming their thumb into my eye.