Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got some frog tape as suggested by another member here. I need to put 2 coats on but the instructions say to pull the tape off immediately while the paint is still wet. Does that mean, I have to pull the tape after the first coat, let the coat dry and mask it again before the second coat? Or, can I leave the masking tape on while I wait for the first coat to dry for 2 or 3 hours and pull it after I second coat it?
Thanks.

·
Premium Member
127 Posts
I've always removed it after both coats while 2nd coat is drying without an issue. I burnish the tape before painting.
I use the yellow, low tack tape and pull tape at a 45° angle. Generally, my wall paint is BM regal line or Scuff-X.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well, I just pulled the tape off and once again, it peeled the paint off the edge with it. I'm getting pretty frustrated. I am a novice at this and the only way I can get crisp straight lines is going to be by masking. Everything I try is still peeling paint when I pull off the masking tape. I've tried letting it dry a day. I just now tried pulling it after my second coat. I've tried beige, blue and now, Frog Tape but, it always peels off some paint with it.
Also, last night I caulked the trim with clear paintable caulk. Now, when pulling the tape off, it took off some of the caulk with it! Almost like, the frog tape gell bonded to the caulking.
I have a whole dining room with a lot of crown moulding and other trim to do next and I'm imagining it will be a frustrating mess. I'm open to any and all advice. I just don't get it.
I didn't prime the kitchen part but I planned on priming the dining room. Will that be any help as far as maybe the paint would stick to primer better and stay stuck to the wall instead of coming off with the tape?

·
Registered
437 Posts