Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm glad I stumbled upon this forum, and am looking forward to both using it in the future (to glean wisdom from others) and to impart wisdom on area's that I have experience in.

Background and setting: I started painting at age 15 (I'm 33 now), for my father who at the time owned a painting company. I coopted through high school working for his company doing 10 houses (roughly) a month, working 60-70 hour weeks. They were cheaper NC (bare drywall), and in those days we double flatted walls and ceilings. Which incidentally, to this very day, have never had a call back or problem with them. At that time, the paint store that we used was Pittsburg Paints. From there we moved to 'Color Your World' and then followed sales reps over to Dulux. In this time I period I learned a lot; I was taught how to cut in with 3" Purdy's always without tape (with the exception of corner beads on bulkheads etc.) if I hit it I fixed it-junctions in walls, trim, ceilings etc. How different paints work also, but by application and experience, never really learning about chemical makeups and things of that nature. I started my own company, and it is doing alright. At the moment, my market is higher end homes and re-paints.