Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm glad to have stumbled upon this forum a few weeks back, excellent info. I have been painting with a 30 year "pro" for the past five years learning the trade and am deciding to branch out on my own. he still swears by Oil and rarely uses anything else , old habits die hard.. but a good teacher.. But am I crazy to consider jumping full blown into my own painting business right now? I have been waiting to see were this economy is going , but the way i figure,, there will always be need for our trade,, its just that you have to identify the market that will be stable and go after it.. i have seen alot of large PC dump their crews and are back into the bucket while most of the equipment stays idle, their biz model is shot. any trends out there?? thanks in advance and for this forum.. Cheers

·
Registered
5,447 Posts
no one knows. We all debate it and try to figure it out, but no one really knows what is going on with it. There is work out there, but do people have the extra money to spend? Or will the part with the money to maintain what they have? Time will tell, the "timers" tell us that it is all cycles and they have seen this before..

·
Registered
138 Posts
i think the future of painting will be in prisons and goverment subsidised apartment complexes like the had in the former soviet union. maybee mosques, goverment owned medical clinics, and facilities for a new branches of the military designed to keep order after our economy colapses.

·
17,818 Posts
Welcome to PT. :thumbsup: