Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been reading this forum for awhile now and thought it was time a proper introduction was made. I am a painter for a restoration contractor, but I got to that position by accident. I worked summers for a friend of my dad as a house painter as a teen. We did the typical stuff and it was some spending money for a kid. 18 years later and 13 of those in a factory I quit to go to work for an acquaintance whom my wife already worked for. I became his shop painter because of my previous experience:eek: . I received a crash course in using a hvlp and was pretty much left to learn it myself.

That is what brought me here to begin with. Now it appears as though I will be unemployed tomorrow and have been considering starting my own business:blink: The economy is rough in my area and I'm wondering if I can make a decent living as a painter/painting contractor.

Anyway thats who I am nice to meet you.

·
Banned
14,174 Posts
Welcome
Yes! You can make a great living being a paint contractor. Regardless of the current economy. This is the best time to start a business if you manage it right.
Good luck!

·
Born To Be Mild
4,956 Posts
Welcome aboard! Use the search function. You will find out more info then you can store in your brain! The board is a great reference tool.

Good luck.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Well it looks like I probably won't get laid off after all. But that still doesn't change my ambitions and am still considering my own business:thumbup:

Thanks for the links RCP and thanks for the encouragement from everybody else

·
Registered
5,447 Posts