Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 6 years professional painting experience. Started in 2012, lived and worked in New Hampshire. Was employed by a medium sized painting contractor. I had the freedom to choose what paint I wanted to use on my jobsites (had company credit card and could shop anywhere I wanted). For interior always used ProMar 200 or Ultra-Spec 500. Liked them both. Didn't care for anything from Lowe's or Home Depot. Nor did I care for the high end stuff from Ben Moore or Sherwin, thought is was overkill.

Fast forward a few years and I had the opportunity to relocate to a different state, change careers and make more money in a different industry.

I now live in southwest Florida and have been out of the painting industry for almost 4 years.

Just bought a house with the wife and pretty much the entire interior needs painting. Obviously going to do it myself.

Stopped into the local Ben Moore place the other day and they wanted $47 a gallon for Ultra Spec 500. Just a few short years ago I could get it in New Hampshire for $28 a gallon.

Although it's my favorite interior paint, it's just not in the budget since I need around 10 gallons.

Guy at the paint place recommended Florida Paints, which I've never used and know nothing about.

Was around $30 per gallon for what he claimed to be similar to Ultra Spec 500. Swore the quality was just as good. I'm skeptical since the price difference is so large.

Whats the scoop on Florida Paints? Are they good quality or was the sales guy giving me a load of bull?

What paint should I use? Love PorMar 200 and Ultra Spec 500, but not in the budget. Going white semi gloss. Advice and opinions welcomed

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
I don't know a thing about Florida Paints, so I can't help there.