Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Sublime Painting Co.
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I've been in the painting business since I was a kid. My owns a paint store in New Jersey. I worked for him up until I moved to Florida, and also did a whole bunch of side jobs. I have a lot of painting experience for my age. That being said I have decided to start my own business. I am in the process of licensing and insuring. I have done a lot of researching on getting licensed in Florida. I have read all sorts of mixed things. Some people say you don't need to be licensed at the state or county level if your a painter, others have said you just need to be licensed at the county level, some have said just at the state level. Who has had experience getting licensed in Florida? I need help on where to go next. Some people have said you need to be licensed as a general contractor. I'm a little worried if I do need to be licensed that I won't be able to get it. I have a felony on my record from a STUPID mistake I made when I was 18. I have heard all sorts of mixed things, and just need some clarity on this. I have tried talking to a couple of painters down here. Some told me they aren't licensed or carry insurance but advertise they do. I do not want to do anything illegal. Others have told me they have a GC license because they do more then paint. I just don't know where to turn. Any comments would be GREATLY appreciated. I would be more then happy to help anyone with any issues you have as far as adhesion or product recommendations for problem projects etc....As I have a lot of experience in helping painters with those projects that don't seem to end.

·
Registered
253 Posts