Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a painter at a design company and we make pillows, placemats, and small furniture. Our placemats are really popular, but I have a few issues. The previous artist left the company without leaving me any records of their processes or materials. There were few materials left in the studio. At this point, I have tried Everything as a clear coat (over both latex and spray paints) Everytime the problem seems resolved, I get an email saying my placemats have become stuck together while being shipped. This is extremely frustrating...I'm running out of options. I have used Polycrylic, Polyurethane, Spray Polyurathane, Clear Spray enamel, Glazing compound, and Clear Lacquer Spray. The Clear Lacquer Spray (from Rustoleum) was definitely the one that worked best, but I just received a complaint about it today. I let everything dry for a week before shipping. This is driving me crazy! Any ideas?

·
Registered
4,253 Posts
Check out Becker Labs in TN. I know they make a lot of specialty clear coats, everything from furniture to marine to nail polish.
There WB lacquer is real fast dry, and sets up very hard.
Google it, worth a try.

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
WB general finishes - precat urethane is what I use a lot and I haven't had problems with sticking, even tough I don't do that type of work. I've stacked full size doors in the garage once done and they haven't stuck together. Not that it's the right answer but you can give it a shot, just let it dry. Spray, let dry, sand, spray again, let dry, stack or whatever.

Maybe it's a shipping process that is the problem?

·
Registered
56 Posts