Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a painting contractor based in Indiana. I have a crew of around 10 people. Since outdoor painting season is short here, I focus on indoor jobs.

Does anyone have a recommendation for project estimating software?

·
Registered
109 Posts
RCP,

Are you also using Quick Books for payroll? If so, are you happy with it? Easy to set up?

(yeah, I'm an FNG who has not given an intro yet.....get one out soon) :thumbup:

Respectfully,

Brian

·
Registered
12,314 Posts
RCP,

Are you also using Quick Books for payroll? If so, are you happy with it? Easy to set up?

(yeah, I'm an FNG who has not given an intro yet.....get one out soon) :thumbup:

Respectfully,

Brian
No, I use a Mac and 2007 QB and last time I checked you had to use a third party for it, I don't know about the new version though. I have heard others that are happy, some of the others here may have better input.
My accountant offers payroll service, for $50 a month I just fax in the hours and they do it all. They also do the 941's and UI reports. I write one check to cover payroll and taxes, well worth it to me!

I do use the time card feature in QB to an awkward version of job costing.

·
Registered
3,840 Posts
We have a member here is creating one, Pat, you done yet?

No, unfortunately not. really have not worked on it for a few months now. Well did a few things last weekend on getting my invoice part to work. Just been to busy with painting. One of my best summers that I can remember. I'm pretty sure I can thank Paint Talk for that. Learned allot here in the last year or so.

I'm going to shoot for the fall as being a realistic time for it to be ready.

For those who have not seen a preview, here is a video on creating a proposal.

Pat

·
Registered
3,378 Posts
Pat whats you intention for it?

I mean....ya, its an estimator, but do you intend to keep it to yourself, share, sell, make an app?

·