Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
So I’m still in my first year of business, and like I’ve mentioned in previous threads, I’m happy with our income. It’s a little more than I made as a full time employee, and this is the first year. My question to you is, how long did it take for your business to have a break out year? (if that’s ever happened). Or have you found that it’s been steady growth with random off years due to the economy?

Also, would you recommend hiring on a few people if there’s the work, or sticking to a small (husband and wife) operation as we are now.

Obviously we’re gonna get a wide range of comments here, and I don’t feel that anyone is wrong. I’m just interested in your advice and thoughts. All the best!

·
Registered
1,417 Posts
An old time painter once told me it took the average paint company about 5 years to get hummin' and to start making good money. The reason, he said, was that painting tended to be one of those businesses that lots of people jumped into when they got laid off from a job, needed an extra income, etc. People that hire REAL painters want a painter that they know is in the biz for the long haul. They want to know that you will be there in 7, 8, 9 years when they need you again. He felt that 5 years showed that you were in it for the long haul and once customers saw that you were legit and long-term, you were more apt to begin getting the repeat business that helps you achieve nice "bank."

I've found that to be basically true although it could take less than 5 or more than 5. For me, it took more than 5 because it took time getting established with builders, GC's, real estate agents, etc. Those relationships take time to build, but, once you're in the door, business really takes off.........

·
Registered
146 Posts