Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody. My name is Dan and I'm new to Paint talk, and I'm also new to the painting industry. I enjoy painting and I feel like I do a great job. I really want to get into my own business but I'm not sure where to start. I have the skills and some of the equipment to do interior painting, drywall patchwork and trim. I am also pretty confident in my ability to do faux finishes.

How do I start and where do I get the customer base from? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

-Dan

·
Registered
12,314 Posts
Welcome to the forum.
I moved your post to the Introductions thread. A lot of guys "enjoy painting and do a great job". Making it work as a business is a whole different thing.
Have you worked for another painter before?

·
17,849 Posts
Find out about a license, insurance, WC, figure out the cost to be legit and then come up with a business name, start marketing and then become a salesman.

Where did you gain your experience? Many people decide to become a PC and many close up shop before the first year is behind them, it is a lot more than just having some equipment and using it. Use the search feature and read up on the pitfalls. Good Luck and welcome to the forum. :)

·
Registered
3,388 Posts
Find out about a license, insurance, WC, figure out the cost to be legit and then come up with a business name, start marketing and then become a salesman.

Where did you gain your experience? Many people decide to become a PC and many close up shop before the first year is behind them, it is a lot more than just having some equipment and using it. Use the search feature and read up on the pitfalls. Good Luck and welcome to the forum. :)