Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings:
I have been in the residential and commercial painting business, off and of, since 1974. Out of those 42 years I have a about 20 years as a full-time painter. I am an independent contractor and do a great deal of sub-work in the Cleveland/Northeast Ohio area. I am 61 years of age and surprisingly, still very fit. I don't muscle around 40 foot ladders as well as I used to nor to I take many jobs which require it. Here is something I learned from an old school painter in 1974....if you are right handed, you cut in and roll a wall from right to left (counter clockwise). If you are left handed, you cut and roll a wall from left to right (clockwise). Many guys I work with are right handed but work left to right. The reasoning behind my left to right work is as follows. The old school painter told me that by working right to left and backing up as you go, the newly finished work is always in front of you and you are moving away from it. That way there is no risk of bumping the freshly painted work with your elbow and marring it with a piece of clothing. How many of you follow the same rule for painting? Just curious.
Hope to speak to all of you again real soon
-Keith
(cykotic)

·
Administrator
19,584 Posts
Welcome to the group Keith. Right handed and typically cut from left to right unless I'm in the mood to go right to left.

·
Registered
4,253 Posts
Hi Keith, welcome.

I was taught the opposite from an old Union painter. Left to right as a right hander.

That's interesting reasoning for the right to left thing, never heard that. I guess left to right just feels more natural to me, though I will go the other way in some situations.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
6,802 Posts
Welcome!