Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all, I am new to the website and have been looking around at lots of posts just absorbing some info from everyone. I am a professional painter who has been painting for just over three years. I am a young gentleman and realize i probably need to put my time into the business a bit more before i think about starting out on my own. I do enjoy the work (most of the time) and really enjoy looking at finished products. As i move from job to job and see how my employers operate and other painters around our area I cant help but feel that there is a major void in this market. There are a few guys doing great work and many many out there just throwing coats on things to get paid. Basically as a young man who is thinking about starting his own business down the road i'm really interested in what kind of advice some veterans could hand me down. I'm not expecting all the inside secrets or anything just some helpful ideas or questions i need to consider when I am trying to plan a future as a painter. Thanks for any help

·
Rock On
2,451 Posts
Every good technician has an entrepreneurial seizure at some point
A great painter does not a businessman make
The two have nothing to do with each other
That doesn't mean you can't be both
But being a great technician in no way means you are cut out for business ownership

Run out to Barnes and Noble or Borders, or your local bookstore if they are open Sundays, pick up a copy of The E-Myth Contractor by Michael Gerber, and read it tonight

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·