Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using Centurion 2k for a few months now. Maybe 2 jobs a month. My question is, how toxic is isocyanurate? Specifically inhalation. I wear ppe, but if the family is in the basement is it OK? How long to wait before it is safe? Should I be wearing a mask for brush and roll?

Also how toxic are we talking? Smoke a cigarette toxic of the course of a day. A carton?

Not much, if any info our there.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
isocyanates are NASTY. DO NOT breath in those fumes without a respirator,under any circumstances.

you're not finding much info, cuz you spell it wrong.
Copied directly from centurion sds. Which 3m filters are to be used? 3m don't list specific chemicals it will protect against.

How long until the stuff is safe to be around?

·
Registered
Property Manager
114 Posts
I've been using Centurion 2k for a few months now. Maybe 2 jobs a month. My question is, how toxic is isocyanurate? Specifically inhalation. I wear ppe, but if the family is in the basement is it OK? How long to wait before it is safe? Should I be wearing a mask for brush and roll?

Also how toxic are we talking? Smoke a cigarette toxic of the course of a day. A carton?

Good question worthy of some more discussion backed by facts.

·
Registered
3,328 Posts
Copied directly from centurion sds. Which 3m filters are to be used? 3m don't list specific chemicals it will protect against.

Ok. I didnt realize there was a thing as isocyanurates, but Id still treat them the same way as isocyanates. youre supposed to use a supplied air, but most car painters just use the basic organic vapor cartridges. Change them after every job

·
Registered
Painter & Furniture Refinishing
2,448 Posts
Sure am glad you are still well enough to ask about that after using for a couple of months!! ;) What kind of "PPE" have you been using up until now?
As @Woodco noted: