Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I got a new project to paint someone's house. The doors and trim were previously painted in an oil based paint. Usually I would sand, clean with TSP and then paint with my latex paint. However, in this job there's a ton a trim and doors and I would be spending a couple days just doing the prep.

Does anyone know of a primer (non oil based) that might save some time? A painter friend of mine recommended problem solving primer but I've never tried it before.

Any thought?
Many thanks in advance
-Coop

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks so much for the quick reply and tip on Kilz Max ReNt A PaInTeR.
Would you still sand and clean the trim/doors first? Or would a coat of the primer be enough before I painted?
Thanks again!

·
Super Moderator
Licensed General Contractor, Painting Contractor
2,212 Posts
Would you still sand and clean the trim/doors first? Or would a coat of the primer be enough before I painted?
Thanks again!
Nothing replaces the importance of sanding if you're transitioning from oil to latex. You could go a little lighter on the sanding as long as you've knocked the gloss off, and clean with Krud Cutter or liquid sanding de-glosser. Anything else is a gamble in regards to longevity IMO.

·
Banned
3,745 Posts
There are so many paints now that are water soluble that u can go right onto the oil with dedicating a primer coat is a waste.
Pro industrial. Go right on it. Light sand it if u want to. But. It's gonna grab and it's not coming off. I promise.

·
Registered
5,856 Posts
Hi everyone,

I got a new project to paint someone's house. The doors and trim were previously painted in an oil based paint. Usually I would sand, clean with TSP and then paint with my latex paint. However, in this job there's a ton a trim and doors and I would be spending a couple days just doing the prep.