Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, all. I'm new to the forum, and appreciate having your input. I'm an old contractor who recalls an old contractor once telling me how he "ambers shellac", or something like that. I'm installing maple on a job that has maple in place that was finished and installed in 2008. I'd like to get the finish close, but it doesn't have to be perfect because the new and old work won't be very close to one another. Any suggestions? A photo is attached, showing the (darker) existing against a new sample with "Campbell Finish, Clear Satin" on maple. Wood Rectangle Wood stain Flooring Hardwood
Thanks very much.

·
Super Moderator
Licensed General Contractor, Painting Contractor, Christmas Light Installer
2,758 Posts
You could do a wash coat of orange shellac then dye your topcoat, you could just add dyes to your sanding sealer & then topcoat, and/or you could tone them after sealing them. I had a maple set that I did a few years ago where I ended up adding dyes to both my sealer & topcoat, then sprayed a very light mist as a toner, then sprayed my final coats. Since I was using waterborne products, (Emtech conversion varnish), it was the only way to achieve a satisfactory match. The toner must be sprayed with a rig that can produce a very fine mist with an even spray pattern though in order to keep the stain looking uniform without giving an opaque look if you go that route.

Many ways to get to the finish line. If you can tell us what products you'll be using as well as what equipment you have at your disposal, you'll likely get much more tailor-made suggestions.

·
Administrator
professional painting contractor - retired
22,150 Posts