Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a painter. I painted new Fypon PVC Column Wraps. When I washed them, the paint was coming off onto the sponge. When I primed them, within one hour it was blistering. The paint from the factory was lifting off the column down to the substrate. I used Aqualock primer(latex acrylic). Has anyone had this problem before? Any information would be helpful and greatly appreciated. Thank you. Scott

·
Registered
233 Posts
I am a painter. I painted new Fypon PVC Column Wraps. When I washed them, the paint was coming off onto the sponge. When I primed them, within one hour it was blistering. The paint from the factory was lifting off the column down to the substrate. I used Aqualock primer(latex acrylic). Has anyone had this problem before? Any information would be helpful and greatly appreciated. Thank you. Scott

Uhhh... isn't it very difficult to get good adhesion to PVC? I thought that PVC was almost unpaintable except for a select few things that could do the trick?

I just say this because I remember a supplier coming in and showing us a piece of pvc that he got some paint to adhere to and being pretty proud of it.

·
Registered
14,407 Posts
We see pvc exterior trim sometimes. I am not familiar with Fypon, as we typically see Azex or Versatex. PVC trim does take paint very well. It is wise to check the manufacturers (Fypon) specs for paint application instructions.

Without seeing your particular case, I would remove everything down to the substrate, scuff, apply oil primer and then topcoats. I dont know why your primer would be blistering. The only time I see blisters or bubbles on applications is when surface temps are too hot, when the sun is hot on the coating and it is drying too fast. Perhaps the substrate had some type of silicone or wax coating from the factory that needed to be removed prior to finishing.

·
The Lurker
3,514 Posts