Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I have a lot of experience with interior and exterior painting, but have always avoided cabinets. I am now moving into a new construction home but I was too late to choose my cabinet color (they gave me dark brown). The cabinets are beech and stained in a dark brown. The wife wants gray, so gray it is.

I'm a KM guy, and will will specifically be using Gallery Gray, likely in a semi-gloss. Boy, do I have a ton of questions for you all.

ITEM 1: I have always used an airless Graco X7, but am planning on investing in an HVLP due to the seemingly better results one can achieve. (True?) I need these cabinets to have a factory finish or I will never hear the end of it. Because I will only need this sprayer for the cabinets, it doesn't need to be commercial-grade. The Capsprays are awesome, but out of my budget. I am thinking about getting a Fuji Semi-PRO 2 (tried to insert the URL here, but apparently I need to have posted 20 times to do that) and utilizing the gravity fed hopper. Does anyone have experience with a sprayer like this?

ITEM 2: What type of paint do you all recommend to shoot through an HVLP (assuming you recommend HVLP)? I like the idea of the KM (1930) Pro oil-water hybrid due to the hard shell finish and low odor, but realize I will probably have to thin this down with only a 2 stage sprayer.

ITEM 3: Of course, I may be off-base entirely, so I would love to get all of your opinions on what sprayer/paint type combo to use along with what prep, sanding, and finish (polishing compound, etc.)

I really appreciate it, everyone! Pictures will surely come once the project gets underway.

Best,

Patrick

·
Administrator
20,037 Posts