Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to poly a deck that needs a little tlc. The last time it was polyurathated the client said it was discolored in areas b/c of improper prepping. I was going to powerwash it and put down some Jomax, Simple Green and Bleach. Question:

Do I have to sand (scratch up the whole deck)???? Kind of tedious

or

Is there a product out that you can brush or spray on to take off the original finish???? I heard SW has a product. Does anyone have the name or an other suggestions??

· FT painter/FT dad
1,254 Posts
ok...I'll bite

my thoughts we're that jomax/simple green/bleach is overkill or not necessary-I usually only do jomax/bleach for siding and more of a 'deck cleaner' for decks

there are a few guys in here who specialize more in deck washing/sealing that may step in soon

I'm no expert on decking, so I'll stop here for now

· Registered
5,097 Posts
Never,ever, ever put any type of urethane on a deck. Moisture vapor cannot transmit through the coating.. the end result is always peeling and eventually wood rot. Strip that crap off of there using a sodium hydroxide based stripper (its going to be wicked to remove) and follow with a pH balancing acidic treament (mandatory after using a caustic) and lay down a semi transparent, oil based penetrating sealer tinted to the customer's preference.

If you do not remove this and start fresh you will be on a constant losing cycle of trying to perfomr maintenance. You'll never stay ahead of that game. As more coatings go down, the condition of the wood will deteriorarte more rapidly.