Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Started a new exterior single story residential house with painted clapboards that needed a lot of scraping. My normal process is scrape, sand, low pressure wash, caulk, light finish scrape & prime, paint x2. I'm a solo part time operator. The issue is I'm ready to prime and the non loose paint left from the first scrape and sand is coming up. It's now loose. I'm attributing that to the fact it has been exposed for a few weeks. It has rained a lot during the time. The wet boards released the previously stuck paint. Can that be? I hope I'm explaining it right. The boards are still slightly wet and not fully dry and I'm hoping once it fully dries the paint might not be loose. If I didn't wash the house I could prime right after to seal the bare wood. Is washing the house that integral part of the process? Granted the north side should always be done to kill the algae and moss.

·
Premium Member
1,810 Posts
Started a new exterior single story residential house with painted clapboards that needed a lot of scraping. My normal process is scrape, sand, low pressure wash, caulk, light finish scrape & prime, paint x2. I'm a solo part time operator. The issue is I'm ready to prime and the non loose paint left from the first scrape and sand is coming up. It's now loose. I'm attributing that to the fact it has been exposed for a few weeks. It has rained a lot during the time. The wet boards released the previously stuck paint. Can that be? I hope I'm explaining it right. The boards are still slightly wet and not fully dry and I'm hoping once it fully dries the paint might not be loose. If I didn't wash the house I could prime right after to seal the bare wood. Is washing the house that integral part of the process? Granted the north side should always be done to kill the algae and moss.