ROPES and Harnesses

When I first began painting as a career, I worked as an assistant to a "one-man painting contractor". He was a skilled craftsman, but his version of “Painter Safety” was to have me paint the high parts, while saying “just don’t fall”. When I ventured out on my own Painter Safety became a priority, especially when working on taller homes where a fall would likely cause injury or death.

The first piece of safety equipment I purchased was a 150’ Arborists Rope (7/16” diameter). A quality rope is one safety item that every painter should own and use. I have since added a complete Personal Fall Arrest System (PFAS), which I add to and maintain on a regular basis.

THERE ARE THREE MAIN PARTS TO A PERSONAL FALL ARREST SYSTEM

A - Anchor

B - Body Harness

C - Connectors

It is as simple as ABC.

A - Anchors - “a secure point of attachment for lifelines, lanyards or deceleration devices.

B - Body Harness - “straps which may be secured about the employee in a manner that will distribute the fall arrest forces over at least the thighs, pelvis, waist, chest and shoulders with means for attaching it to other components of a personal fall arrest system.”

C - Connectors - “a device which is used to couple (connect) parts of the personal fall arrest system and positioning device systems together. It may be an independent component of the system, such as a carabiner, or it may be an integral component of part of the system (such as a buckle or dee-ring sewn into a body belt or body harness, or a snap-hook spliced or sewn to a lanyard or self-retracting lanyard).”

*Note - As a general rule, every part of your Personal Fall Arrest System (PFAS) is expected to have a rating of 5,000lbs (22kN) or more.

WHICH ROPE SHOULD I BUY?