Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a customer who wanted me to paint a pedestal kitchen table in high gloss black paint. I used a HVLP sprayer and thinned the Benjamin Moore Super Spec Urethane Alkyd Gloss Enamel with Naphtha as indicated by the sprayer. The temperature here in NY was in high 30's to low 40's. It took a few days for the 1st coat to completely dry. I put another coat on it for extra protection and I am waiting for that to dry (painted yesterday late afternoon). My problem is that the paint has the orange peel effect to it. Can I sand it and apply the paint with a brush to get a smoother finish? I have been painting furniture for years but usually use latex or chalk paint. I have never worked with enamel before.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Naphtha could be your problem, It evaporates too fast or you might be thinning to much?. I would give it another coat and thin the paint with good ol paint thinner (mineral spirits). One of the great properties of enamels are that they level out easily. something is off in your procedure.

OR simply change the needle size, are you using the correct one?.

I would only consider brushing as last resort, don't you want the best possible finish?.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the reply. I absolutely want the best finish possible! I am using a 1.5 needle. I also have a 2.0 - would that be a better choice? I will also try using mineral spirits.

·
Registered
566 Posts
It really depends on type of hvlp gun you are using, compressor size, the cfm's your gun needs and tank provides as well as the psi's you have at the gun that will decide your tip size. How much are you thinning down the oil? 30%?
Get you a piece of wood and do a couple practice rounds...try a 1.3 tip...?

·
Registered
1,605 Posts