Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
Im a remodeling contractor and we are taking on more cabinet painting. I’m trying to make this simple for myself.

I have a job right now spraying raw MDF panels from a company called Semi-Handmade. Hardwood edge banding and flat MDF panels. I’m planning to use Kem Aqua Plus with the surfacer.

i have another job that’s a repaint. My plan for that job is BIN or SW shellac primer (cleaning and sanding prior to priming) and Breakthrough Satin. I believe i can get HIGH VOC here in South Carolina.

basically my conclusion is KEM AQUA for new unfinished cabinetry and BIN/Breakthrough for repaints.

Im unaware of a BM dealer in my area. But I have a good SW and PPG rep. Am i thinking right or wrong with my cabinet painting ventures?

thanks!

·
Registered
209 Posts
Kem aqua will work on repaints, but SW won't warranty it.

BIN gets brittle, over time. I know a lot of guys swear on it, because they don't get bleed through and short-term it looks good. If I was doing my own personal kitchen, I'd go with oil primer.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Kem aqua will work on repaints, but SW won't warranty it.

BIN gets brittle, over time. I know a lot of guys swear on it, because they don't get bleed through and short-term it looks good. If I was doing my own personal kitchen, I'd go with oil primer.
So a standard oil primer for repaint but kem Aqua instead of Breakthrough?

I like the idea of kem Aqua because of durability and quick recoats

·
Super Moderator
6,854 Posts
I like bin as a primer for cabinets (never had an issue with it) and use Breakthrough for the finish coats. Being that we're both in SC I can tell you for sure that you can get the good stuff here. They sell both and they're both in the same looking can so be sure to tell them you want the V50 Breakthrough when ordering it.

·
Super Moderator
Journeyman Painting Contractor