Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Banned
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a noob I don’t really want to lose my arse as I get my feet wet. Do customers hire painters T & M often or do they shun it for the most part and only hire painters who give estimates as a rule.

I also here in these parts most painting contractors who give estimates it is for labor only and require the customer to purchase the paint. I am curious why this seems to be a trend around here.

Thanks

·
Registered
14,407 Posts
We do a fair amount of t&m. Most customers prefer having a ballpark "not to exceed" budget. I think its a really fair way to business since the customer gets exactly what they pay for and we get paid for everything we do. I would recommend including materials in your budgeting. It is important to work efficiently and diligently when doing t&m so the homeowner never even begins to suspect that you dont care how long it takes.

·
Registered
950 Posts
The only time we do T&M is for homeowners I have already done work for who know I will give them a fair and honest price. Even then it is usually only when we are stripping wallpaper or working in stages around other trades where there are unknown variables. Other than that it is an exact bid with materials included with change orders being the only thing that will affect the original bid. People like to know the other T&M (time and money) before they jump in with both feet. As pro's this is what we should be doing.

·
me paint pretty one day
182 Posts
I am a solo and use T&M kind of. I work a 10 hr day M-Th at $450./day. I charge the homeowner for materials. I have been lucky to have good customers and word of mouth. I only paint interors and generally only trim and doors. I will do walls for a special request. I never started out to be a painter; a neighbor was over and asked my wife who did the work and now I am a painter.