Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Painter
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I worked for the same family business for 10 years back in Chicago. But just moved to Denver so my wife could advance in her career. Because I worked for the same contractor since high school, I could use a little advice as far as finding a contractor to work for. I called around on Craigslist and applied on indeed, but I know with thanksgiving coming up it’s not the best time to be looking. Would hanging around Sherwin/ppg in the morning seem too desperate? I feel like a dang idiot but I’m a great painter and would like to work for someone who appreciates that.

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
Right now I'd be surprised if it was all that hard to find work.

That said, I don't think I'd just hang around the paint stores in the mornings like a day worker looking for a gig. But I'd likely visit all of the paint stores, talk up the people at the counter, explain your story, and leave them a number for if they know of anyone looking to hire.

I'd also look up a social networking site called "Nextdoor". It pegs you to your local area and isn't a free-for-all in terms of setting up an account as is something like craigslist or facebook. I'm on my local one and not a day goes by that someone isn't trying to find a painter (or a plumber, or electrician, of handyman, etc.) Maybe pick up some cash jobs to get yourself moving. Then go legit with an LLC, insurance, business license, etc.

·
Premium Member
153 Posts
Since you stated you want to work for someone, develop a list of paint contractors you've researched a bit on the web that you think you would like to work for and contact them directly. It will show you are motivated/pro-active unlike hanging around a paint store passively waiting for something to come to you. Trust me, you will feel better in general being pro-active.