Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Banned
14,174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been watching and reading this forum for a couple of months now. Why do painters go to paint talk to get advice? I have been painting for 15 yrs. I've seen paint failures, application failures and just down right stupid failures. Every time, I dug in it my self. From calling on reps to getting chemist out on the site. Even asking my competitors if they are experiencing similar problems. I could understand the tricks of the trade. But if one as a business owner has to depend on going to paint talk to get advice on what to do and what not to do. Then I think it would be a good time to reevaluate if you should be painting or not. I know I have been a smart A** here at times. I officially apologize. I know an apology is in really not sincere with a but. BUT why would, when one has a problem wait till they can get on paint talk and ask the crew here how to solve their problem. Just to get tore up by the gang.

OK, now I’m ready for your sarcasm NEPS, VERM, TIM, BIKER, and others.

· Born To Be Mild
4,956 Posts
Maybe one is looking for justification of their individual opinions.

I am offended that you are "waiting for my sarcasm". Just because I don't use them, it does not mean that I don't have feelings!

· Born To Be Mild
4,956 Posts
Why would you put B B down for sarcasm? He may joke around a little but, the dude tells it like it is. :thumbsup:
It's ok Tim, I think he was really just kidding.

"Nice to know ya got my back."

:thumbup:​

· Systems Fanatic
1,390 Posts
To the OP, there are a number of possible reasons why people come here.

One could be to get an answer when we really aren't sure. Another is verification of what we think-- if we have only seen something once, or never before, it can be hard to be sure sometimes. Getting feedback from others is valuable.